Home College ECAC Player Of The Year Finalists

ECAC Player Of The Year Finalists


ALBANY, N.Y. – ECAC Hockey has announced the finalists for the men’s Player of the Year award, and Nick Abruzzese (Harvard), Morgan Barron (Cornell), and Frank Marotte (Clarkson) have all been honored.

Abruzzese (Fr. – Slate Hill, N.Y.) was the league’s leading scoring during ECAC Hockey contests this season, registering 31 points (11G, 20A) in 22 games played. He also finished in a tie for second in the nation with 1.42 points per-game, leading the next best rookie skater by a wide margin. His 44 points in a season were the most by a NCAA Division I freshman since the 2016-17 season.

Barron (Jr. – Halifax, N.S.) recorded 32 points in 2019-20, including 22 (11G, 11A) during league play. His +17 plus-minus rating was third amongst ECAC Hockey forwards, while his 14 goals was tied for fifth. The junior was the offensive leader of a Cornell team that spent much of the season ranked No. 1 in the nation, and ranked second in scoring margin (2.03).

During league play, there was no goaltender hotter than Marotte (Sr. – Longueuil, Que.), who posted a 16-5-1 record against ECAC Hockey opponents. The senior ranked first in GAA (1.63), second in save percentage (.940), and second in saves (546) in his 22 league starts. On the national stage, Marotte ranked fourth in both GAA and save percentage, and sixth in winning percentage.

The Player of the Year award will be announced on Friday, March 20 at 12 p.m.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here