Home College ECAC Announce Finalists For Dryden Award

ECAC Announce Finalists For Dryden Award


ALBANY, N.Y. – ECAC Hockey has announced the finalists for the Ken Dryden Goaltender of the Year award (sponsored by MAC Goaltending), and Matthew Galajda (Cornell), Frank Marotte (Clarkson), and Owen Savory (RPI) have all been honored.

Galajda (Jr. – Aurora, Ont.) has been a finalist for this award in each of his first three seasons, and won it during his rookie campaign in 2017-18. He leads ECAC Hockey in GAA (1.56), having allowed just 45 goals in 29 games played this season. He boasts a 23-2-4 record for the No. 1-ranked Big Red, including an 18-2-2 mark in league play.

In his first season donning the Green and Gold, Marotte (Sr. – Longueuil, Que.) has emerged as one of the nations top goaltenders, ranking in the top-10 nationally in GAA (4th – 1.78), save percentage (4th – .938), winning percentage (6th – .721), and shutouts (8th – 4). He’s played all but 34 minutes in net for Clarkson, backstopping the team to a 23-8-3 (16-5-1) mark.

Savory (So. – Cambridge, Ont.) has been the hottest goalie in the nation during the second half of the season, earning National Goaltender of the Month in both January and February. He boasts a a .932 save percentage in his 24 starts, which includes five shutouts (3rd in NCAA). He’s been even better during ECAC Hockey play, posting a .941 shave percentage and 1.74 GAA.

The MAC Goaltending Ken Dryden Goaltender of the Year award will be announced on Thursday, March 19 at 4 p.m.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here