Blackhawks Win Stanley Cup-Buffalo Native Kane Scores Goal in Victory


    By Corey Masisak – Staff Writer

    CHICAGO — The Chicago Blackhawks won their third Stanley Cup in six seasons with a 2-0 win against the Tampa Bay Lightning in Game 6 of the Final at United Center on Monday.

    Duncan Keith and Patrick Kane scored for Chicago, who also won the NHL championship in 2010 and 2013.

    It is the sixth Stanley Cup championship in Blackhawks history, having won three times in their first 82 seasons.

    Keith was a unanimous choice for the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP, becoming the ninth defenseman to win it.

    Keith scored with 2:47 remaining in the second period to give the Blackhawks the lead. Patrick Kane collected a pass along the right wall and crossed into the Lightning zone before stopping and waiting for help. He slipped a pass through two defenders to Keith in the middle of the ice.

    Tampa Bay goaltender Ben Bishop stopped Keith’s first shot, but he went around Lightning center Cedric Paquette and put the rebound off Bishop and into the net for his third goal of the playoffs. It was Keith’s 21st point, tied for 10th among defensemen in one postseason.

    Kane scored his first goal of the series to make it a 2-0 lead with 5:14 remaining in the third period. Brandon Saad carried the puck into the offensive zone and left a drop pass for Brad Richards. Richards fed Kane with a perfect pass for a one-timer and the first two-goal lead in nearly 355 minutes of play in the series.

    Blackhawks goaltender Corey Crawford, replaced in net for three games during the Western Conference First Round, made 25 saves for the shutout. He yielded two goals in the final three games of the series to the highest-scoring team in the NHL during the regular season.

    (Reprinted With Permission of