Home High School WNYHSCHL Small School: East Aurora/Holland 3-Peats in OT

WNYHSCHL Small School: East Aurora/Holland 3-Peats in OT


By Janet Schultz, NYHOL

East Aurora/Holland defended their 2019 Championship by defeating City Honors/Cardinal O’Hara 4-3 in the Small School Division.

City Honors/Cardinal O’Hara was up 2-1 after the first period with goals by Tommy Maloney and Declan Johnston. Assists came from Patrick Burke and Charlie Graney. East Aurora/Holland weren’t to be taken lightly at that point as at 2:35 of the first Dominick Zittel scored an unassisted goal and ended the first period 2-1.

City Honors/Cardinal O’Hara put in the fourth goal of the game at 11:23 when Thomas Glick got one past Goalie Rhyan Domanowski and second ends with CH/CO up 3-1.

East Aurora/Holland gained momentum after a brief break between second and third and came out flying with Lex Roldan scoring two goals and sending the game into a 3-3 tie, ending the regulation.

In a 5 on 5 overtime period, Dominick Zittel gets the game-winner at 6:13 and East Aurora/Holland are the 2020 Small School Champions, retaining their title for the third straight year.

MVPs for the game.

City Honors/Cardinal O’Hara, Goalie Quinn Mahoney and for East Aurora/Holland, Dominick Zittel.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here