Home College College-Women USA Hockey Unveils Roster For 2022 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team

USA Hockey Unveils Roster For 2022 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team

Hayley Scamurra

Scamurra is the lone NYS native on the roster.

U.S. Looks to Defend Gold Medal in Beijing

MINNEAPOLIS – USA Hockey announced the final roster for its 2022 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team that will compete in February at the 2022 Olympic Winter Games in Beijing, China.

Of the 23 players on the roster, 15 have prior Olympic experience, including Cayla Barnes (Eastvale, Calif./2018), Megan Bozek (Buffalo Grove, Ill./2014), Hannah Brandt (Vadnais Heights, Minn./2018), Dani Cameranesi (Plymouth, Minn./2018), Alex Carpenter (North Reading, Mass./2014), Alex Cavallini (Delafield, Wis./2018), Kendall Coyne Schofield (Palos Heights, Ill./2018, 2014), Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis./2018, 2014), Nicole Hensley (Lakewood, Colo./2018), Megan Keller (Farmington, Mich./2018), Amanda Kessel (Madison, Wis./2018, 2014), Hilary Knight, (Sun Valley, Idaho/2018, 2014, 2010), Kelly Pannek (Plymouth, Minn./2018), Maddie Rooney (Andover, Minn./2018) and Lee Stecklein (Roseville, Minn./2018, 2014). https://www.youtube.com/embed/VvdZmoeyjXU

“Naming an Olympic team is always a momentous occasion and we’re thrilled to take this next step on our journey,” said Katie Million, general manager of the 2022 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team. “The players have consistently worked hard and battled through adversity in the last three months, and we’re confident in the talent and energy they bring to the ice as we look to take home gold in Beijing.” 

“We’ve worked through a comprehensive evaluation process that has led us to this 23-player roster,” said Joel Johnson, head coach of the 2022 U.S. Olympic Women’s Hockey Ice Hockey Team. “This team has great veteran leadership, in combination with an infusion of younger talent. The skill, focus and energy they bring to the ice will serve us well as we head to Beijing with our sights set on bringing home gold.” https://www.youtube.com/embed/P_lCNcXqmvk


The team includes eight first-time Olympians in Jesse Compher (Northbrook, Ill.), Jincy Dunne (O’Fallon, Mo.), Savannah Harmon (Downers Grove, Ill.), Caroline Harvey (Salem, N.H.), Abbey Murphy (Evergreen Park, Ill.), Abby Roque (Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.), Hayley Scamurra (Getzville, N.Y.) and Grace Zumwinkle (Excelsior, Minn.). 


Hilary Knight has now been named to four Olympic women’s ice hockey teams, joining Jenny Potter, Angela Ruggiero and Julie Chu as the only American women in USA Hockey history to accomplish that feat. Kendall Coyne Schofield, Brianna Decker, Amanda Kessel and Lee Stecklein have all now made three Olympic teams. 


The team showcases a strong mix of veteran experience and youth, ranging in age from 19 (Caroline Harvey, Abbey Murphy) to 32 (Hilary Knight). The average age of Team USA Is 25.9 years old. 


All 23 athletes have either played, currently play or are committed to play NCAA hockey, with the University of Minnesota leading the way with eight representatives. The University of Wisconsin has connection to five athletes, while Boston College has three, Northeastern University two, and one each for Boston University, Clarkson University, Lindenwood University, Ohio State University and University of Minnesota Duluth. 

NOTES: Tonight’s announcement came during the second intermission of the NHL’s Winter Classic at Target Field in Minneapolis and was showcased live on TNT … The U.S. heads into Beijing as the defending gold medalist after having defeated Canada, 3-2, in a shootout in the gold-medal game of the 2018 Olympic Winter Games … Of the 15 players on the roster with Olympic experience, all but Megan Bozek and Alex Carpenter were part of the gold medal-winning 2018 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team … Team USA has medaled in every Olympic Games since women’s hockey was introduced to the Olympic program in 1998, including two gold medals (1998, 2018), three silver medals (2002, 2010, 2014) and one bronze medal (2006) … The U.S. opens Olympic competition against Finland in group play on Feb. 3. Puck drop is set for 9:10 p.m. local time and 8:10 a.m. ET.

(Scamurra photo by Janet Schultz Photography/NY Hockey OnLine)