Home College Union Names Captains

Union Names Captains


Senior defenseman Charlie Vasaturo (Sewell, N.J.) has been named team captain for the Union College men’s hockey team, which embarks on its season opener in two weeks.

Head Coach Rick Bennett also announced that senior forwards Daniel Ciampini (Concord, Ontario) and Sam Coatta (Minnetonka, Minn.) will serve as alternate captains.

Vasaturo appeared in a career-high 42 games last season, led Union in blocked shots (62) and received the team’s Unsung Hero Award.  He spent most of the season paired on defense with All-American captain Mat Bodie.

Ciampini was an All-ECAC Hockey Third Team selection last season, recording the second-most goals in a Union season (23) as the team’s second-leading scorer (41 points).  Coatta scored a career-best five goals, appeared in 40 games, and saw time on the penalty-killing unit.

Vasaturo’s selection marks the seventh straight season that a blueliner will handle captain duties.  Mat Bodie served as captain for two seasons (2012-14) and was preceded by Nolan Julseth-White (2011-12), Brock Matheson (2010-11), Mike Wakita (2009-10) and co-captain Lane Caffaro (2008-09).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here