Home College RPI Men’s Hockey Places 28 On ECAC All-Academic Team

RPI Men’s Hockey Places 28 On ECAC All-Academic Team


TROY, N.Y. – The Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) men’s hockey team has placed 28 student-athletes on the 2020-21 ECAC Hockey All-Academic team, the league has announced. The Engineers saw nine student-athletes earn the distinction for the first time. Cory Babichuk was named to the Commissioner’s List, earning a 4.0 grade point average in both semesters.

Senior goaltender Linden Marshall (Victoria, BC/Trail Smoke Eaters) was the lone engineering majors to make the list, while the other 27 are Business and Management majors, including four-time recipients Marshall and Billy Jerry (River Falls, WI / Madison Capitals). Three freshmen earned the award and now have a chance to be four-year recipients during their careers.

Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters.

As a team, Rensselaer had a department-high GPA of 3.59 in the Spring 2021 semester and boast a cumulative average of 3.45. Twenty-eight student-athletes had at least a 3.0 GPA last semester with 20 of them earning a 3.50-or-better.

NameYearMajorAll-Academic Teams
Cory BabichukJr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20
John BeatonSo.Business and Management2020-21
Nick BowmanSr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20, 2018-19
John BrackettSo.Business and Management2019-20, 2017-18
Alec CalvarusoSr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20
Dylan DaviesFr.Business and Management2020-21
Daniel DiGrandeSr.Business and Management2019-20, 2018-19
Zach DubinskyJr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20
Brady FernerSr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20, 2018-19
Jake GagnonFr.Business and Management2020-21
Kyle HallbauerSr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20
Louie HelsenSr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20
Rory HerrmanJr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20
Billy JerrySr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20, 2018-19, 2017-18
Jake JohnsonSr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20, 2018-19
Simon KjellbergJr.Business and Management2020-21
Mason KleeJr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20
Jakub LackaSr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20, 2018-19
Ottoville LeppänenSr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20, 2018-19
Ture LindenSr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20, 2018-19
Ryan MahshieJr.Business and Management2020-21, 2019-20
Linden MarshallSr.Mechanical Engineering2020-21, 2019-20, 2018-19, 2017-18
James McIsaacSo.Business and Management2020-21
Brett MillerSo.Business and Management2020-21
Altti NykanenFr.Management Engineering2020-21
Henri SchreifelsSo.Business and Management2020-21
Lauri SertiSo.Business and Management2020-21
Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here