Home USA Rochester’s Stephen Gionta Named to Team USA

Rochester’s Stephen Gionta Named to Team USA

Five Added to 2013 U.S. Men’s National Team

Carter, Gibson, Gionta, LeBlanc and Moss Boost Roster to 23 Players

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Goaltender John Gibson (Pittsburgh, Pa.) and forwards Ryan Carter (White Bear Lake, Minn./New Jersey Devils/Minnesota State Univ.), Stephen Gionta (Rochester, N.Y./New Jersey Devils/Boston College), Drew LeBlanc (Duluth, Minn./Chicago Blackhawks/St. Cloud State Univ.) and David Moss (Livonia, Mich./Phoenix Coyotes/Univ. of Michigan) have been added to the the 2013 U.S. Men’s National Team that will compete at the 2013 International Ice Hockey Federation Men’s World Championship, USA Hockey announced today. The tournament is scheduled for May 3-19 in Helsinki, Finland, and Stockholm, Sweden.

Carter and Moss played together on the U.S. Men’s National Team that participated in the 2010 IIHF Men’s World Championship.

Gibson played on the 2012 and 2013 U.S. National Junior Teams plus the 2012 U.S. Men’s National Under-18 Team. He backstopped Team USA to the gold medal at the 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship, and collected the directorate award as the tournament’s best goalie. He was also the directorate award winner at the 2012 IIHF Men’s Under-18 World Championship when the United States won the gold medal.

Gionta’s previous Team USA experience includes playing on the 2001 U.S. Men’s National Under-18 Team.

LeBlanc is making his debut on a U.S. National Team.

Team USA’s roster now includes 12 forwards, eight defensemen and three goaltenders on its roster. The maximum roster size is 25, which includes three goaltenders and 22 forwards and defensemen.

For Team USA’s updated roster, click here.

NOTES: Twenty-one of 23 members of Team USA played U.S. college hockey … Nine of the 23 players announced are products of USA Hockey’s National Team Development Program, including Matt Carle,Justin FaulkJohn Gibson, Stephen Gionta, Matt HunwickErik Johnson, Danny KristoJamie McBain and Jacob Trouba … Ten NHL teams are represented on the roster. The Calgary Flames, Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Edmonton Oilers, Florida Panthers, Phoenix Coyotes, Tampa Bay Lightning and Winnipeg Jets … Joe Sacco, head coach of the NHL’s Colorado Avalanche, was named head coach of the 2013 U.S. National Men’s Team. Tim Army, Danton Cole andPhil Housley will serve as assistant coaches … The 2013 U.S. Men’s National Team is under the direction of the U.S. Men’s National Team Advisory Group, led by Jim Johannson, assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey. Other members include NHL general managers Stan Bowman(Chicago), Paul Holmgren (Philadelphia), Dean Lombardi (Los Angeles), David Poile (Nashville), Ray Shero (Pittsburgh) and Dale Tallon (Florida) and NHL scouts Brian Burke (Anaheim) and Don Waddell(Pittsburgh) … USA Hockey’s international council, chaired by Tony Rossi, vice president of USA Hockey, has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams … Sixteen teams will compete at 2013 IIHF Men’s World Championship. There will be two groups of eight with one group playing in Helsinki, Finland, and the other playing in Stockholm, Sweden. The semifinals and medal games will be conducted in Stockholm.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here