Home College Eight Dutchmen Named AHCA All-American Scholars

Eight Dutchmen Named AHCA All-American Scholars


GLOUCESTER, Mass. – A program-record eight members of the Union College men’s hockey team were recognized as KrampadeAll-American Scholars for the 2020-21 season, the American Hockey Coaches Association announced last Monday.

Junior Fletcher Fineman and sophomore Merek Pipes earned the recognition for the second straight season, while six players – recent graduates Drew Blackmun ’21, Taylor Brierley ’21 and Darion Hanson ’21; junior Ryan Sidorski; and sophomores Owen Farrisand Gabriel Seger – all earned the honor for the first time in their careers.

The eight honorees more than double the number of Dutchmen to earn the honor all-time, bringing the total number of All-American Scholars to 15 during the five years of the program.

Due to the effects of COVID-19, the AHCA adopted revised criteria for the honor this season. To qualify, a student-athlete must have attained a 3.60 GPA or higher for each semester of the 2020-21 school year, regardless of whether the school’s team was able to compete this season.

A total of 532 Division I men’s student-athletes earned the national honor this season.

(Union College Men’s Hockey Photo)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here