banner ad

2016-17 Tyler Putnam Award Winners Announced

Congratulations to 2016-2017 award winners! We look forward to seeing you at the upcoming ceremony and presenting you with your awards!

Aquinas High School / Tyler Dellina
Brighton High School / Travis Scroger
Brockport High School / Alec Rockow
Canandaigua High School / Matthew Carbary
Canandaigua Youth Hockey / Spencer Taft
Edge Girls Youth Hockey / Adelle Young
Fairport High School / Michael Layer
Greece Athena High School / Calvin Boily
Greece Olympia High School / Joe Attilli
Hilton High School / Sam Sedia
Irondequoit High School / Patrick Hynes
McQuaid High School / Scotty Nasca
Monroe County Youth Hockey / Matthew McCullough
NewEdge Hockey Development Academy / Carson Fotheringham
Penfield High School / Ryan Fox
Pittsford High School / Bobby Doyle
Rochester Grizzlies Youth Hockey / Josh Hall
Rochester Youth Hockey / JJ Lemieux
Rochester Red Wings Youth Hockey / Jonny LoMonaco
Rochester Monarchs Youth Hockey / Owen King
Rochester Junior Monarchs / Jonathan Entelisano
Spencerport High School / Jacob Wood
Syracuse Nationals Hockey / Blake Humphrey
Tri-County Youth Hockey / Trevor Wiesner
Webster Youth Hockey / Rebecca Audi
Webster Schroeder High School / Maxx Wildey
Webster Thomas High School / Ryan Babineau
Victor High School / Georgie Stathopoulos
Josh Opladen Goaltender Award Recipient / Ryan Babineau

Celebrating Hockey in Rochester, NY

On April 1, 2017, the 4th Annual Tyler Putnam Hockey Awards
will be held again at the beautiful Whitter House in Rochester, NY. Last year’s award ceremony hosted over 200 of Rochester NY’s who’s who in hockey and celebrated over 25 award winners from 25 different hockey programs in the greater Rochester, NY area beyond. This formal ceremony has celebrity speakers, beautiful, custom awards, a fantastic, complimentary dinner and is recognized by local TV, multiple hockey magazines and other media sources. This year’s event will honor upward of 25 minor hockey players and host a record breaking 300+ people! In addition to the Tyler Putnam Awards, NEHDA also provides the Josh Opladen Goaltender Award and the prestigious Coach of the Year Award. It is truly a great experience for all involved but most importantly, the Tyler Putnam Awards has raised thousands of dollars for local charities!

Tyler Putnam’s Story

Tyler Putnam’s dream was to play for his High School Hockey team, The Irondequoit Eagles, Junior Hockey, Division I Hockey and ultimately Professional Hockey. Tyler was able to realize two of those dreams, having played for The Irondequoit Eagles as an eighth and ninth grader and then with the Maksymum Junior team here in Rochester, NY. At the conclusion of his first Junior season, Tyler was well on his way of realizing his next dream as he was offered roster spots on five Junior A teams from Rochester, Minnesota to San Diego, California.

In July of 2011, Tyler’s hockey dreams ended tragically when he died of an illness called “meningococcemia”, which is an infection that affects the bloodstream. Tyler Putnam was known for his high energy, incredible work ethic, and desire to achieve his goals. Tyler has been memorialized with a banner hanging above the ice at a local hockey arena as well as by a memorial helmet sticker that dawns the symbol of a hard hat – a symbol of Tyler’s hard work and dedication to the game that he loved.

One player from each of the following organizations who exemplifies hard work, commitment, character, and a dedication to the game of hockey will receive a Tyler Putnam Award!

Aquinas High School Hockey Program
Brighton High School Hockey Program
Brockport High School Hockey Program
Canandaigua Youth Hockey
Canandaigua High School Hockey Program
Churchville Chili High School Hockey Program
Edge Girls Hockey Program
Fairport High School Hockey Program
Greece Athena High School Hockey Program
Greece Olympia/Arcadia High School Hockey Program
Hilton High School Hockey Program
Irondequoit High School Hockey Program
McQuaid High School Hockey Program
Monroe County Youth Hockey
NewEdge Hockey Development Academy
Penfield High School Hockey Program
Rochester Monarchs Youth Hockey
Rochester Junior Monarchs
Pittsford High School Hockey Program
Rochester Grizzlies Youth Hockey
Rochester Youth Hockey
Rochester Red Wings Youth Hockey
Spencerport High School Hockey Program
Syracuse Nationals / Blazers
Tri-County Youth Hockey
Webster Youth Hockey
Webster Schroeder High School Hockey Program
Webster Thomas High School Hockey Program
Victor High School Hockey Program

Coaches from the various hockey organizations are responsible for nominating a player to their board of directors and/or athletic directors for the award. The youth hockey organization’s board of directors or high school hockey program’s coaches and/or athletic directors are responsible for selecting their Tyler Putnam Award winner and submitting him/her to NewEdge Hockey. In rare cases where a winner is not submitted by an organization, NEHDA and/or the TPA committee can/will elect a winner from that program.

Print Friendly

Filed Under: FeaturedHigh School

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Leave a Reply