Home Sled Hockey • USA Hockey Sled Hockey Classic Starts Tomorrow in Arlington, Virginia ...

• USA Hockey Sled Hockey Classic Starts Tomorrow in Arlington, Virginia • Cale Morris Named to 2014 U.S. Junior Select Team

USA vs Canada in game in October in Buffalo
• USA Hockey Sled Hockey Classic Starts Tomorrow in Arlington, Virginia
• Cale Morris Named to 2014 U.S. Junior Select Team

Fifth Annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, Presented by the NHL, Begins Tomorrow in Arlington, Virginia
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The fifth annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the National Hockey League and hosted by the Washington Capitals, will take place Thursday throughSunday (Nov. 20-23) at Kettler Capitals Iceplex in Arlington, Virginia.
The event is part of the fourth annual Come Play Hockey Month, a joint effort between USA Hockey and the NHL.
The record 18-team field will include 200-plus athletes. Ten members of the 2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team that won gold earlier this year in Sochi, Russia, as well as 11 current members of the 2014-15 U.S. National Sled Team will participate in the tournament.
“The NHL and its member clubs have been great supporters of the USA Hockey Sled Classic,” saidJeremy Kennedy, manager of membership and disabled hockey for USA Hockey. “With the success our team had at the 2014 Paralympic Games, the interest in sled hockey continues to increase, and this year’s tournament includes two additional teams and a fourth tier.”
Each of the 18 competing teams are affiliated with NHL clubs: Arizona Coyotes, Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Columbus Blue Jackets, Florida Panthers, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, Ottawa Senators, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins and Washington Capitals. Sled hockey teams will represent their affiliated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos.
For full tournament results, statistics and game recaps, as well as photos and video content from the weekend, click here.
NOTES: The Colorado Avalanche hosted the inaugural USA Hockey Sled Classic in 2010. The Colorado Avalanche Sled Hockey Team won the four-team tournament … In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers held the event in Vorhees, New Jersey, where the Buffalo Sabres Sled Hockey Team took first place among nine teams … In 2012, the Buffalo Sabres put on the tournament in Williamsville, New York, with the Dallas Stars winning the ‘A’ Division and the Washington Capitals capturing the ‘B’ Division … Last year the Pittsburgh Penguins hosted the tournament in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and the Dallas Stars and Washington Capitals repeated as the ‘A’ Division and ‘B’ Division champions, respectively. The Nashville Predators won the inaugural ‘C’ Division … Participating teams in the tournament must have an official affiliation with an NHL member club … For more information about the 2014-15 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team, click here … For more information on the sport of sled hockey and to view a list of sled hockey teams in the U.S., click here.
Cale Morris of Chicago Steel Named to 2014 U.S. Junior Select Team
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Hockey announced today the selection of goaltender Cale Morris (Larkspur, Colo.) of the United States Hockey League’s Chicago Steel as the 22nd and final member of the U.S. Junior Select Team that will compete in the 2014 World Junior A Challenge in Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Dec. 14-20.
In his second USHL season, Morris has played nine games for the Steel this year and owns a 5-3-1 record (3.07 GAA, .907 SV%)
For a complete Team USA roster, schedule and other information, please click here.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here